Pet insurance guide
Best Pet Insurance: How to Compare
There’s no single best pet insurance for every pet. Here’s how to compare the terms that matter most, waiting periods, exclusions, reimbursement, limits, and price, using each company’s published information.
Blake Insurance Group is an independent agency serving clients by phone, email, and online in states where we are licensed; coverage depends on the insurer, the policy, and underwriting.
Published by Blake Insurance Group LLC · Reviewed October 2026
Request pet insurance quotes
Tell us about your pet, and a licensed agent will follow up with pet insurance options available to us. Submitting the form doesn’t bind coverage.
Blake Insurance Group Request form
Tell us what insurance you need and how to contact you. Please do not include Social Security numbers, Medicare IDs, or medical details.
If the form does not load, call 888-387-3687, Monday through Friday, 9:00 to 5:00, or email info@blakeinsurancegroup.com.
Waiting periods compared
| Company | Accident wait | Illness wait |
|---|---|---|
| ASPCA | 14 days | 14 days |
| Embrace | 2 days | 14 days |
| Fetch | None | Up to 15 days |
| Figo | 1 day | Not stated on page |
| Healthy Paws | None in 16 states; 15 days elsewhere | 15 days |
| Lemonade | None (current guide) | 14 days |
| MetLife Pet | 0 days | 14 days |
| Odie | None for unexpected-event injuries (varies by underwriter) | 14–15 days |
| Spot | 14 days | 14 days |
| Trupanion | 5 days (most states) | 30 days (most states) |
Sources: each company’s official pages, checked October 2026. Terms vary by state; in states with the NAIC model law, accident waiting periods are prohibited.
Exclusions
Common exclusions include pre-existing conditions, breeding, cosmetic and elective procedures, and grooming. Many insurers distinguish curable pre-existing conditions, which may become covered after a symptom-free period (180 days to 18 months, depending on the company), from incurable ones like diabetes, which usually stay excluded. Under the NAIC model, the insurer bears the burden of proving a condition is pre-existing, and a condition covered under the policy can’t be treated as pre-existing at renewal. Exam fees, dental illness, and behavioral care vary by insurer.
Discounts
| Company | Multi-pet discount |
|---|---|
| ASPCA | 10% each additional pet |
| Embrace | 10% |
| Lemonade | 5% |
| MetLife Pet | Offered; percentage not stated |
| Nationwide | 5% for two pets, 10% for four or more |
| Paw Protect | 10% |
| Pets Best | 5% (accident and illness plans with the same underwriter) |
| Pumpkin | 10% each additional pet |
| Spot | 10% pets after the first |
Sources: official company pages, October 2026. Not stated on the pages we checked: Fetch, Figo, Healthy Paws, Odie, Trupanion, Wagmo, Hartville, Petco.
How pet insurance works
Most pet insurance works by reimbursement: you pay the veterinarian, then file a claim. Plans come as accident-only, accident-and-illness, and optional wellness add-ons for routine care. After your deductible, the insurer pays a percentage of covered costs, commonly 70% to 90%, up to an annual limit; the NAIC’s consumer guide shows how a $100 deductible and 20% coinsurance leave the insurer paying $40 on a $150 bill. Deductibles can be annual, per incident, or, at Trupanion, per condition for the pet’s lifetime. Some insurers pay on the actual bill and others on a schedule or usual-and-customary rates, which California warns can leave you paying the difference.
Rules and consumer protections
Pet insurance is regulated as property and casualty insurance, and agents who sell it must be licensed; under the NAIC model they also need product training. The 2022 model act requires clear disclosure of exclusions, waiting periods, deductibles, limits, and whether premiums rise with age or claims, plus the underwriter’s name when it differs from the brand. It gives a 15-day free look (California, Florida, and Nebraska allow 30 days) and says wellness programs aren’t insurance and can’t be required. The NAIC’s Summer 2026 chart lists pet insurance laws or rules in 23 states, including newer laws in Florida (2025), Rhode Island (effective 2026), and New Jersey (effective January 1, 2027).
Brands vs. insurers
The name on a pet insurance ad is often not the insurer. Many brands are agencies or administrators, and the policy is underwritten by another company: Spot, Figo, Pumpkin, and the ASPCA program, for example, are underwritten by Independence American Insurance Co. or United States Fire Insurance Co., and Costco’s program is offered through Figo. Massachusetts requires policies to disclose both the insurer and the marketer, so check the declarations page.
Pet insurance at a glance
Pet insurance is growing but still covers a small share of pets. NAPHIA, the industry trade association, reports about $5.7 billion in U.S. in-force premium at the end of 2025, up 19.7%, with insured pets up 9.0%. It estimates 5.99% of U.S. dogs and 2.29% of cats are insured. NAPHIA’s average 2025 accident-and-illness premiums were $836 a year for dogs and $435 for cats; accident-only averaged $190 for dogs and $112 for cats. Your price depends on the pet, location, and plan choices.
Wellness plans
Wellness or routine-care plans pay for preventive care such as exams and vaccines. Some are add-ons to an insurance policy and some are separate subscription programs that aren’t insurance; the NAIC model says a wellness program can’t be marketed as insurance or required to buy a policy. Compare the yearly cost of the add-on with what you’d actually spend on routine care.
Age limits
Enrollment ages vary. Fetch covers pets from 6 weeks, Pets Best from 7 weeks, and Spot and Odie from 8 weeks. Trupanion enrolls dogs and cats under 14, Odie up to 14, and Embrace and Paw Protect offer accident-and-illness coverage up to 14 with accident-only after that, while Spot, Pets Best, and ASPCA list no upper age limit for illness coverage. The NAIC noted in 2019 that premiums for older pets can be two to four times higher, and model-law states require insurers to disclose age-based increases.
Filing a claim
To file a claim, you generally pay the vet, then submit the itemized invoice and medical records to the insurer, often through an app. The NAIC’s 2019 guide noted that only one carrier then paid vets directly; today Trupanion can pay hospitals that use its software, and Healthy Paws offers direct vet payment on request. Reimbursement is figured after your deductible and coinsurance and is capped by your annual limit, and claims can be denied for exclusions such as pre-existing conditions, so keep records from your pet’s first vet visits after enrolling.
Renewals and price increases
Pet policies are usually one-year contracts that renew. Premiums can rise at renewal as pets age, and some insurers also adjust for location or claims, which the NAIC model requires them to disclose; MetLife, for example, says claims don’t raise its premiums but age can. Insurers can also decline to renew: in 2024 Nationwide non-renewed about 100,000 policies, and Washington’s regulator said that was lawful with 45 days’ notice. A 2026 Washington bill (SHB 1078) would limit non-renewals based on a pet’s age or conditions, but we couldn’t confirm it became law.
Checking a plan and insurer
- Confirm the underwriter on the policy, not just the brand.
- Check waiting periods for accidents, illnesses, and orthopedic conditions.
- Read how pre-existing and curable conditions are defined.
- Compare deductible type, reimbursement percentage, and annual limit together.
- Ask whether exam fees, dental illness, and behavioral care are covered.
- Check enrollment age limits and how premiums change with age.
- Note the free-look period in case you change your mind.
What an independent agency does
An independent insurance agency is licensed to sell policies from several insurance companies. Instead of quoting one company's products, an independent agent can compare options from the insurers the agency represents, explain the differences in coverage, and help you re-shop at renewal. The insurance company, not the agent, makes underwriting and claim decisions.
Blake Insurance Group is an independent agency. We work with clients by phone, email, and online in states where we are licensed, and we will tell you which insurers we can quote for your situation.
How we work
Blake Insurance Group serves clients by phone, email, and online in states where we are licensed. The insurers and plans we can offer depend on our appointments and your location; a company named on this page may not be available through us.
How to verify an insurer or agency
Before buying through any website or app, confirm who is selling you the policy and who will issue it:
- Find the licensed agency or insurer named in the site's footer, terms, or license page.
- Look up the agency or producer on your state insurance department's license search, or through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR).
- Look up the insurer on your state insurance department's company search to confirm it is authorized in your state.
- Save the insurer's name and policy number once issued, since that is who handles claims.
A legitimate service will make this information easy to find. Be cautious if you cannot identify the licensed entity.
Sources
We checked the facts on this page against the sources below in October 2026. Plans, prices, and rules change, so confirm current terms before you buy.
- KIRO 7: Nationwide dropping policies for about 100,000 pets (Jun. 2024)
- MetLife Pet: How pet insurance works
- Trupanion: How pet insurance works
- Healthy Paws: Frequently asked questions
- NAIC: Pet insurance topic page (Apr. 2025)
- NAIC Pet Insurance Model Act #633 (2022)
- NAIC: Pet insurance model law state chart (Summer 2026)
- NAIC consumer publication: Pet insurance (2019)
- NAPHIA: State of the Industry 2026 highlights (Jun. 2026)
- Massachusetts Division of Insurance: Pet insurance
- Washington OIC: Pet insurance
- California Department of Insurance: Pet insurance guide (Jun. 2023)
What to have ready for a pet insurance quote
These details help an agent quote accurately.
- Pet details. Species, breed, age, and sex of each pet.
- ZIP code. Prices vary by location.
- Vet records. Recent records help clarify any pre-existing conditions.
- Coverage choices. Deductible, reimbursement, and annual limit you’d consider.
- Current policy. Any existing pet policy and its renewal date.
Best Pet Insurance FAQs
Does pet insurance cover pre-existing conditions?
Usually not. Some insurers cover curable conditions after a symptom-free period, from 180 days to 18 months depending on the company.
How much does pet insurance cost?
NAPHIA reports 2025 averages of $836 a year for dogs and $435 for cats for accident-and-illness coverage; your price depends on the pet, location, and plan choices.
Can I see any vet?
Most reimbursement plans let you use any licensed vet, but some limit you to a network; check the policy.
Is a wellness plan insurance?
Not always. Some are insurance add-ons and others are separate programs that aren’t insurance.
When can I cancel?
The NAIC model act gives at least a 15-day free look if you haven’t filed a claim; some states allow 30 days.
Related guides
Partner quote options
Sponsored
Blake Insurance Group works with the partners below. Each link opens the partner's own website, where its terms, eligibility rules, and privacy policy apply. Blake Insurance Group may be compensated if you buy through these links.
- Fetch pet insurance: Accident and illness coverage for dogs and cats. Routine care and pre-existing conditions are not covered.
Important information
Compensation. Links in the partner section of this page are sponsored, and Blake Insurance Group may be paid if you make a purchase. Sponsored placement does not affect the other information on this page.
Independent agency. Blake Insurance Group LLC is an independent insurance agency. Licensed insurance producer NPN 16117464. Licensed states: AZ, AL, TX, CA, NY, OH, FL, NC, VA, GA, OK, NM, IA, KS, MI, NE, SC, SD, WV, IL, NJ, PA, TN, and WA. Which insurance companies we can quote depends on our current appointments, the product, and your state. Mentioning a company on this page does not mean we represent it.
Pet insurance terms. Waiting periods, exclusions, limits, and prices vary by company, underwriter, state, and pet, and companies change their terms. Descriptions come from each company’s published materials and regulators, checked October 2026. The policy controls coverage.
Company names. Company names are trademarks of their owners. Blake Insurance Group isn’t affiliated with the companies described unless a partner link says so; a company named here may not be available through us. We compare companies; we don’t rank them.
Coverage terms. Descriptions are general. The policy contract controls what is covered.
Availability. Coverage, prices, and eligibility vary by company, state, and applicant, and are subject to underwriting. The issued policy controls.
Your next step
Request a quote, and a licensed agent will compare pet insurance options available to us for your pet.
Expert in personal and commercial insurance, including auto, home, business, health, and life insurance.
License: 16117464